Login | Register

Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:03 am

Hi,

I know the title is a little bit controversial. :?
But, I wander if there is a way to create a "3D" imaging device for one eyed people.

I am studying in electrical engineering field and I hope that a technology can be developed to create a device that can produce 3D effects that can be detected by a single eye.

As far as I know, most of the actual 3D imaging technology are based on the binocular principle.
Here is a list of the technology I know :
- 3D environment projected on a flat surface (As when you play a game on your computer or animation films on standard theatres.)
- anaglyph (RED/BLUE (or Red/Green) glasses )
- Light Polarity shift ( Polarised glasses (slightly grey glasses) )
- Cross-eyed (as "Magic eyes" pictures)
- Bi-Screens ( Glasses with one small screen per eye)
- holographic images (used on some stickers and security bills)

(If anyone know any other technology, please feel free to contribute)

First of all, a little bit of science, (I will try to make it easy to understand, but if you don't, feel free to ask questions :?: ... There are no stupid questions, the only questions that are stupid are those that aren't asked )

3D perception (ocular (eye(s)) as well as aural (ear(s)) and sensitive (finger(s), skin))

3D perception means 3 Dimensions to perceive.
To perceive the 3 dimensions we need, at least, 3 spacial references.
(A spacial reference is a way to detect a dimension that your body can detect. For example, if we take a pencil in a hand, we can know it is long because our hand is not able to touch both the tip and the end. The hand here is a reference. If we look at a 2D picture, one reference is the horizontal axis ( also called the X axis ) and the other reference is the vertical axis (Y axis). With these two reference we can see if an object is big if it use a lot of place in the image larger we can also see if the object is larger or taller than an other one.)